The Meaning of Love

How do you know if you are in love with someone?

I’ve been hurt too many times by men to let someone in so easily, but something feels right with this one. We’ve only been dating a few weeks, and anyone with common sense would know how ridiculous it would be to bring out the dreaded L-word this early in a relationship. Even so, I’ve caught myself nearly saying it several times in the past few days. My roommate even said something to me the other night, when I had slipped up while talking about him. I thought I had been sly, quickly changing my word to “like”, yet she still caught it. With her being my best friend, she had seen how different I had been since I met him (I have noticed that I’m not as stressed out about stuff lately!), and all she did was laugh and shake her head when she heard me say I loved him.

I think she would tell me if I was digging myself in too deep, right?

I don’t even know if I know what “love” is… Romantic love, anyway. With my spiritual beliefs, I have taught myself to love everyone and everything for who and what they are, but how do I differentiate between that and knowing if this is more than just infatuation? It’s scary how happy I am around him, but that’s probably because I’m so used to people letting me down that I’m half expecting him to just disappear and it will be all for nothing…

Maybe I’m thinking too much into it, and I should just go with the flow. After all, everything happens for a reason!

Questions or Thoughts?

